Getting rid of the dreaded candida

So I’ve been battling with an overgrowth of candida for about 7 months now. I’ve had recurring yeast infections, brain fogginess, exhaustion, dizziness, and migraines- as well as a whole host of food sensitivity issues.

About 6 months ago I began researching these symptoms, made the link to candida, and started a cleanse. The first couple of days were pretty brutal- I was dizzy, nauseous, and exhausted and could not will myself out of he’d for the life of me. All I could stomach was lemon water and a few vegetables. On day three I finally felt well enough to eat a full three meals- all of which consisted of raw or lightly sautéed vegetables. I ate this everyday and soon began to feel much better- my energy levels went up and I felt really positive.

I stuck with this strict diet for about a month and then started to reintroduce fruits and grains slowly, as the diet suggested. This went pretty well, there were some minor bumps as I discovered what my digestive system could and could not handle but overall I was feeling well.

By month three I had reintroduced some not so good things- such as coffee and sugar, which would immediately cause a flair up of candida. This was really discouraging to me because it meant that I had not gotten rid of the fungus all together- even after two months of strict dieting. I wasn’t sure whether to continue on the diet, and had a relapse into my past eating habits. This continued until this month, when I began feeling just as poorly as I did six months ago- so I’m going to try the eliminate candida once again.

Reading other people’s experiences, it seems like fats have recently become the big no-no in cleansing candida, so I figure I may as well try to cut out as much fats as I can along with the sugar, gluten, and carbs.

My goals are:
1. To eat mainly vegetables and low-sugar fruits.
2. To exercise regularly.
3. To eat at least a clove of garlic each day.
4. To take probiotics each day to help good bacteria grow.

I’m planning to start this tomorrow and will update each day! :)

Leave a Reply

